Monday, February 15, 2016

A Tornado Watch has been issued for Franklin County

The National Weather Service has issued Tornado watch 16 in effect until 1:00 A.M. EST Tuesday for the following areas in Florida.

The watch includes seven counties in Northwest Florida: Franklin, Gadsden, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Madison and Wakulla.

In Georgia this watch includes twenty-six counties in South-Central Georgia: Ben Hill, Berrien, Brooks, Colquitt, Cook, Irwin, Lanier, Lowndes, Thomas, Tift, Turner and Worth.

In Southwest Georgia: Baker, Calhoun, Clay, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Lee, Miller, Mitchell, Quitman, Randolph, Seminole and Terrell.

This includes the cities of Adel, Albany, Apalachicola, Arlington, Ashburn, Bainbridge, Blakely, Cairo, Camilla, Carrabelle, Chattahoochee, Colquitt, Cuthbert, Dawson, Donalsonville, Douglasville, Edison, Fitzgerald, Fort Games, Georgetown, Greenville, Lakeland, Leary, Leesburg, Madison, Monticello, Morgan, Moultrie, Nashville, Newton, Ocilla, Pelham, Quincy, Quitman, Shellman, Smithville, Sopchoppy, Sparks, Springhill, St. Marks, Sweetwater, Sylvester, Tallahassee, Thomasville Tifton and Valdosta.

A Tornado Watch is issued by the National Weather Service when conditions are favorable for the development of tornadoes in and close to the watch area. Their size can vary depending on the weather situation. They are usually issued for a duration of 4 to 8 hours. They normally are issued well in advance of the actual occurrence of severe weather. During the watch, people should review tornado safety rules and be prepared to move to a place of safety if threatening weather approaches.